Share on facebook

Order of the Arrow

Order of the Arrow Logo

Scouting's National Honor Society

The Order of the Arrow (OA) is the national honor society of the Boy Scouts of America. It uses American Indian-styled traditions and ceremonies to bestow recognition on scouts selected by their peers as best exemplifying the ideals of Scouting. The society was created by E. Urner Goodman in 1915 as a means of reinforcing the Scout Oath and the Scout Law. The goal was to establish these as lifelong guidelines, and to encourage continued participation in Scouting and camping. Influenced in part by camp traditions and Indian folklore, the OA uses "safeguarded" symbols, handshakes, and ceremonies to impart a sense of community.
Inducted members, known as Arrowmen or Brothers, number more than 180,000 youth and adults. They are organized into local youth-led lodges that harbor fellowship, promote camping, and render service to Boy Scout councils and their communities. Members wear identifying insignia on their uniforms, most notably the OA sash, and are eligible for special OA awards. The OA program sponsors several events, awards, and training functions.

Troop 6 is in the
Meechgalanne Chapter of Onondaga Lodge #36. Onondaga has served as the Order of the Arrow lodge for the Ohio River Valley Council since 1993. The lodge is involved in many service projects for local BSA Troops and the council and its camps. Onondaga offers many programs to the scouting movement, including dance & drum performances, Native American Ceremonies, Troop elections, OA Tap Outs, Brotherhood Ceremonies, and much more. The members of the lodge also participate in many sectional and national programs, including: the National Order of the Arrow Conference (NOAC), the Area Leadership Training Conference (ALTC), the National Leadership Seminar (NLS), Indian Summer, and Section Conclaves.
Our lodge is divided into three different chapters, serving the council. The chapters are: Arrowhead (Buckeye), Meechgalanne (Mountaineer), and Papoukewis (Two Chiefs).
Onondaga Lodge #36 is also a proud recipient of the 2008 National Quality Lodge Award. The lodge plans to continue the tradition for 2009 by earning that award once more!